What do you mean it’s SNOWING!?

Posted on February 5, 2010

0


I think it’s hilarious whenever there are reports of snow in the Hampton Roads area… Snow is not something we get here often and whenever the word is mentioned on the weather channel, people start acting like the end of the world is upon them… No, seriously. Schools start closing, events are cancelled… People PREPARE for the snow like it’s a natural disaster of some sort. It’s JUST snow! Be thankful we’re not getting earthquakes and tsunamis!

Last week Hampton had it’s first snow storm in awhile. Can you guess where I was during the snowfall? Right smack dab in the middle of it! YEP. Call me crazy but somehow I always end up outdoors during rare weather conditions… Back in November we had a nor’easter hit. I live on a small island community where flooding can become a huge problem – I suppose it doesn’t bother me as much since my house is uphill and has never been affected by the flooding… I honestly wish I could say the same for the rest of the neighborhood. Most of the houses here (particularly the ones right on the water) sit on their garages. When we get flooding from major storms, the garages are usually filled with salt water (which could destroy whatever you may have lying around in your garage). During the nor’easter, my boyfriend’s garage (he lives on the island as well) had almost three feet of flooding. They had to figure out a way to lift everything off of the ground so it wouldn’t be damaged by the water… That’s all well and good until you have to find a place to put the spare refrigerator and the golf cart (I still don’t know how they did it!).

Anyway the island ended up getting an entire foot of snow last week. I was out running around during the entire snow storm. I even took a walk down Grandview Beach! It was fine going one way, but coming back was terrible since the snow had turned to ice… I was bundled up in jackets and boots and gloves, but my face was still exposed and the sleet was blowing right in my direction! I knew I should have had some ski goggles, but no… I had to be stubborn. I didn’t believe the weatherman when he said we’d be getting up to twelve inches of snow. I’ve gotten my hopes up plenty of times before when it comes to snow in Hampton Roads, so when I heard the news, you can believe I was doubtful…

I once had a Canadian friend from Ontario who found it funny that schools and jobs would be cancelled because of a few inches of snow. I tried to explain that we’re not used to snow and it’s dangerous for people to be out driving when they’re inexperienced in handling a vehicle in snowy or icy conditions. He insisted that we should invest in snow tires… I guess he didn’t understand when I said snow is sort of rare for us. Why the heck would we invest in special tires for a few inches of snow that we only get like once every decade!?

Besides, I think it’s nice to have a day off whenever snow is in Hampton Roads. We don’t get it very often and having work and school closed gives us a chance to enjoy it while it lasts. So for all those people who get it all the time, and think it’s ridiculous for us to take time out of school or work because of a few inches of snow… Give us a break. We don’t get it very often, and when we do, most of us want the opportunity to appreciate it.

