So much to catch up on!

Posted on April 9, 2010

0


Sheesh, there’s been a lot going on lately and I haven’t updated the blog in over a month! Well to get you up to speed, let me explain what has happened within the last two months. In March I joined the Hampton Roads Bird Club on my very first Sunday bird walk at the Newport News Park. We recorded 59 different species of birds that morning between 7am-12pm. It was a ton of fun! Plus it was a great workout too. I hadn’t exercised that much in a long time and my legs were killing me when I got home. My new hiking shoes ended up cutting my heels, so I drove home barefooted.

In March, I also had the photoshoot with the young couple I had met with in February. They decided to have the pictures taken at the beach in Yorktown. We had scheduled a day to meet to discuss the pictures that were taken, and how many they would need for their invitations. Unfortunately, the couple had to cancel for a reasonable cause.

By the end of March, I managed to get all of my financial information straightened out at Thomas Nelson Community College. I took my placement test and registered for summer classes. I’m aiming towards an Associate’s in Visual Communications as well as Photography. Hopefully I will have both degrees by the end of 2012.

This past week I applied at the Animal Aid Society, a shelter on the road towards TNCC. They hold up to 35 dogs and are run entirely by volunteers. Since I can’t have a dog in my current household, I figured it would be a rewarding job to help the dogs at the AAS find homes. Now don’t think I’m going to be sitting around playing with puppies all day! It’s going to be a tough job, but I’m looking forward to it nonetheless.

I recieved a call yesterday from one of the ladies at the AAS. She scheduled my orientation for Tuesday at 4pm, and I’m guessing my first day will be on Thursday. I’m really looking forward to working at the Animal Aid Society. I’ll definitely be documenting my time there.

In the meantime, I’m going to be changing the blog around a bit. I decided to no longer host images from the blog, but instead just link you guys to my actual gallery on Deviantart. It was kind of a hassel to upload everything individually on WordPress. Don’t worry, though, I’m still going to post pictures with my posts!

